top of page

Colleen Coble: From Heartland to Heartfelt Stories - The Inspiring Journey of a Celebrated Christian Novelist.

Colleen Coble, an American Christian author, has carved a niche for herself in the literary world with her compelling romance, romantic suspense, and historical fiction novels. Born on January 19, 1952, in Wabash, Indiana, Coble's journey from a farm girl to a bestselling author is a story of passion, resilience, and faith.

Colleen Coble (Source:
Colleen Coble (Source:

Raised on a farm in Wabash County, Indiana, as the eldest of four children, Colleen's early life was rooted in the simplicity and challenges of rural living. Her father, George Rhoads, was a farmer and a guard at General Motors, while her mother, Peggy, was a dedicated housewife. Colleen's upbringing was marked by adventure and the close-knit nature of her family, including her three brothers, Randy, Rick, and David.

Coble's foray into writing was sparked by a personal tragedy. The untimely death of her brother Randy, who was struck by lightning in 1990, became a turning point in her life. This event led her to pursue her long-held dream of writing. She chose Wyoming, where her brother had lived, as the setting for her first four romance novels, capturing the wild West of the 1860s. These novels, "Where Leads the Heart," "Plains of Promise," "The Heart Answers," and "To Love a Stranger," were the beginning of her illustrious writing career.

Balancing her job as a receptionist at Wabash Electric Supply, where she handled a thousand calls a day, Coble dedicated herself to writing, a testament to her determination and love for storytelling. Her early books, short historical romances, were published by Barbour Publishing under its Heartsong Presents imprint.

Coble's writing is deeply influenced by her Midwestern roots and her experiences growing up on a farm. Her stories are imbued with action and adventure, reflecting the vibrant and sometimes challenging life she led in her youth. This connection to her past brings authenticity and depth to her narratives.

Over the years, Colleen Coble has written more than thirty-five novels and novellas, which have sold about 2 million copies. Her work has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Romance Writers of America prestigious RITA, the Holt Medallion, the ACFW Book of the Year, the Daphne du Maurier, National Readers’ Choice, the Booksellers Best, and the 2009 Best Books of Indiana-Fiction award.

Coble's bibliography is extensive, featuring series like Rock Harbor, Mercy Falls, Lonestar, Aloha Reef, Under Texas Stars, Hope Beach, Sunset Cove, Lavender Tides, Journey of the Heart, and Pelican Harbor. Each series showcases her ability to weave romance and suspense with historical and Christian themes, creating stories that resonate with a wide range of readers.

Colleen Coble's life and work are a beacon of inspiration, showing how personal experiences and faith can be transformed into stories that touch the hearts of many. Her journey from a farm in Indiana to becoming a celebrated author is a testament to the power of dreams and the enduring spirit of creativity.


Colleen Coble's Website:

6 views0 comments
bottom of page