top of page

The 2024 National Book Awards Judges: A Diverse and Distinguished Panel.

The National Book Foundation has officially announced the judges for the 2024 National Book Awards, showcasing a diverse and distinguished panel that spans a wide range of literary disciplines. This year's selection of judges includes celebrated authors, scholars, and literary professionals who will oversee the awards in categories such as Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature.

2024 National Book Awards (Source:
2024 National Book Awards (Source:

Key Dates and Deadlines

The submission process for the awards began on March 13, with all titles required to be submitted by May 15, 2024, to be considered for this year's awards cycle. The longlists for each category will be announced from September 10 to 13, followed by the finalists on October 1. The awards ceremony will culminate with the Medal Ceremony & Finalist Reading on November 19, and the winners will be announced at the 75th National Book Awards ceremony on November 20.

Notable Judges and Their Contributions

Fiction: The fiction panel is chaired by Lauren Groff, a three-time National Book Award Finalist known for her novels "Fates and Furies" and "The Vaster Wilds." Jamie Ford, author of the New York Times bestseller "Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet," and Zeyn Joukhadar, author of the award-winning "The Thirty Names of Night," are among the notable judges in this category.

Nonfiction: Chaired by Tressie McMillan Cottom, a 2020 MacArthur Fellow and New York Times columnist, the nonfiction panel includes Anand Giridharadas, author of "Winners Take All," and Brenda J. Child, a historian and citizen of the Red Lake Ojibwe Nation.

Poetry: The poetry category is led by Richard Blanco, the fifth presidential inaugural poet in U.S. history, and includes Carolyn Forché, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, and Tyehimba Jess, winner of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry.

Translated Literature: Jhumpa Lahiri, a Pulitzer Prize-winning author and translator, chairs this panel. The category also features Jennifer Croft, winner of the 2018 International Booker Prize for her translation of Olga Tokarczuk’s "Flights."

Young People’s Literature: Chaired by Brein Lopez, general manager of Children’s Book World in Los Angeles, this panel includes Leah Johnson, author of the Stonewall Honor Book "You Should See Me in a Crown," and Mike Jung, a founding member of the #WeNeedDiverseBooks team.

This year's judges bring a wealth of experience and insight to the National Book Awards, promising an exciting and competitive awards cycle. Their diverse backgrounds and achievements reflect the National Book Foundation's commitment to celebrating excellence in American literature across all genres and formats.

For more information on the 2024 National Book Awards judges and the upcoming awards cycle, visit the National Book Foundation's official website.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page